Advanced Placement Exams

Advanced Placement (AP) Online Exams Spring 2020
District 214 staff and students have dedicated a great deal of time and energy to their Advanced Placement (AP) courses. Due to school closures, students will now be able to take the AP exam(s) at home. College Board is developing 45 minute secure online exams for each course based on topics and skills most AP teachers covered in class by early March.

  • AP Exam Dates: May 11 - May 22. AP Exam schedule.(Look for the central time.) We encourage all students to take the test on the initial test dates, however there are makeup dates available if students have conflicts.
  • AP Exam Times: Start at 11am, 1pm, or 3pm central time depending on the test. (Students should start the login process 30 minutes before the exam start time.)

Below are some College Board updates as students prepare for online AP exams:

New during AP Exam Week: Important Online AP Testing Submission Information.

District 214 staff has read about issues with student test submissions during online exams. College Board posted that 98% of students had successful submissions during the first AP Exam. Below are some tips for District 214 students to try to minimize submission errors.

  • Students should review and understand each of the submission guidelines from College Board before testing.
  • Start the login process 30 minutes before the exam start time. If students are having trouble starting the login process, College Board recommended refreshing the browser. However, once the exam starts, should should NOT refresh their browser.
  • Utilize the full 5 minutes on the timer to prepare and submit their response. During the exam, students will see a timer at the bottom of the screen showing how much time remains to create and submit the response, Keep that timer visible. The timer will turn red during the last 5 minutes, to signify students to start the submission process.
  • Once a student clicks submit, the response may continue to transfer, depending on bandwidth. This is fine. Students will move on to the next question, even while the first question continues to transfer, so long as Submit was clicked before time ran out on the first question. If the response continues to transfer after the exam ends, the student should wait for an on-screen message confirming that the exam is complete before closing the browser or exiting the exam.
  • Once If the student never sees, "Your AP Exam is Complete", the student should receive a message with this link cb.org/requestmakeup to explain the situation and request an E-ticket for the June makeup exam.

 

 

District 214 Information to provide extra support for students and parents:

More specific information for each AP subject can be found on College Board's website, AP Updates for Schools Affected by Coronavirus.

 

 

AP Exams 2020 by Local Start Times

Below are the primary exam dates. Students need to take the revised test date below.  Students need to be able to login to their College Board account and myap.colleboard account BEFORE the day of testing.  Students will receive an AP at-home Exam kit to review before testing.  More details will be forthcoming.

Exam Start Times: Local times may vary depending on a student's geographic location.

Hawaii Time: 6:00 a.m.
Alaska Time: 8:00 a.m.
Pacific Time: 9:00 a.m.
Mountain Time: 10:00 a.m.
Central Time: 11:00 a.m.
Eastern Time: 12:00 p.m.
Greenwich Mean Time: 4:00 p.m.

Hawaii Time: 8:00 a.m.
Alaska Time: 10:00 a.m.
Pacific Time: 11:00 a.m.
Mountain Time: 12:00 p.m.
Central Time: 1:00 p.m.
Eastern Time: 2:00 p.m.
Greenwich Mean Time: 6:00 p.m.

Hawaii Time: 10:00 a.m.
Alaska Time: 12:00 p.m.
Pacific Time: 1:00 p.m.
Mountain Time: 2:00 p.m.
Central Time: 3:00 p.m.
Eastern Time: 4:00 p.m.
Greenwich Mean Time: 8:00 p.m.

Mon, May 11

Physics C: Mechanics

Physics C: Electricity and Magnetism

United States Government and Politics

Tues, May 12

Latin

Calculus AB

 

Calculus BC

Human Geography

Wed, May 13

Physics 2: Algebra-Based

English Literature and Composition

European History

Thurs, May 14

Spanish Literature and Culture

Chemistry

Physics 1: Algebra-Based

Fri, May 15

Art History

United States History

Computer Science A

Mon, May 18

Chinese Language and Culture

Biology

Environmental Science

Tues, May 19

Music Theory

Psychology

Japanese Language and Culture

 

Italian Language and Culture

Wed, May 20

German Language and Culture

English Language and Composition

Microeconomics

Thurs, May 21

French Language and Culture

World History: Modern

Macroeconomics

Fri, May 22

Comparative Government and Politics

Statistics

Spanish Language and Culture

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

If you have any questions, please contact Mrs. Janice Sokolik at janice.sokolik@d214.org or (847) 718-5413 or Mrs. Mosey Seul at maureen.seul@d214.org or (847) 718-5414.

Note: Students will need to set up a College Board account to enroll in the class and receive their AP scores online. Go to www.myap.collegeboard.org.

2020 AP Exam Dates

 

AP Home Page

AP Accommodations: Students with documented disabilities (IEP or 504 plans) may be eligible for accommodations on AP Exams. 

In order to use accommodations on AP Exams, the student must request and be approved by College Board Services for Students with Disabilities (SSD).  Parents and students are responsible for contacting Mrs. Diaz (IEP) or Mrs. Collins (504) before January 1, 2020.